The fifteen-year restoration project nears its completion ahead of schedule, as a museum next month.
From here, it is just over a month until the outcome of the fifteen-year restoration project, in Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter, is revealed and is open for the public’s enjoyment.
The Newman Brothers Coffin Fitting Works has been undergoing a major renovation project ahead of the opening date set in late October, when it is set to become a museum.
Newman Brothers was built in 1894 and supplied the undertaker trader for than a century before it closed its doors in 1999, leaving a majority of the content in place as if it was the end of an ordinary working day.
The site manufactured a great stock of coffin fittings, shrouds and coffin linings, testament to changing funerary fashions, as well as the business archive and product designs.
It’s estimated around two million has been spent on the building on Fleet Street, including a one million grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund which was matched by English Heritage and the Birmingham City Council.